FAQ
Frequently Asked Questions

How does Lovotime works?

Lovotime is a dating app that lets you meet and chat with only one person at a time. Once you meet someone, the conversation is open for 24 hours. After those 24 hours the conversation will disappear and you'll meet another person.

What should I do to chat with a new person?

You choose your preferences (desired gender, age, distance) and just relax! Lovotime will arrange a new chat for you every day. You don't need to "swipe" or "like" photos like in the other apps.

Can I see the list of registered users and contact them?

No, since we care about the privacy of our users.

Why just one person at a time? Can I chat with more people?

You can chat with only one person at a time, since the chat is exclusive for you. It takes a little time to get to know someone, and finding someone special requires a little dedication.

Can I chat with the same person again?

No, this makes things more exciting, doesn't it? You can choose to share other contact methods if you'd like to carry on the conversation.

How do I know when the chat is going to expire?

There is a countdown timer at the top of the chat. When it reaches zero, the conversation ends.

You are the only free dating app. How do you make money?

Sometimes you'll see a small ad banner in the chat screen. This keeps Lovotime free :-)

Who can use Lovotime?

Lovotime is for those 18 and over.

Is a Facebook account required to use Lovotime?

No. We don't share any information with Facebook or other third parties.

Can I use a nickname instead of my real name?

Yes, you decide if and when to reveal your real name to the other person.

If you are not using a Facebook account, how can you guarantee a person is real?

Unfortunately, using any social media login doesn't guarantee a person is real. Fake accounts can exist in any app. Lovotime is not attractive for fake users since it takes more effort than other apps. Anyway, please follow our safety guidelines when chatting with someone.

Is my profile public? Who can view it?

Your profile is not public. Only your matches can see your profile, and parts of it (like the photo) are hidden until you decide to share them.

How can I see the photo of the other person?

When you meet a new person, his/her photo is initially hidden. If during the chat you both hit the like button on the top-right corner, you'll each see the other's photo.

Do I need to activate my location settings for Lovotime to work?

No, but it is strongly recommended. In order to meet people nearby the app needs to know where you are, otherwise you'll meet people from anywhere in the world.

How do I report someone?

To report someone, go to their profile by tapping his/her name, then tap Report User.

What happens if I report someone?

If you report a person, that person won't find out. He/she won't be able to send you any messages anymore and he/she might be banned from Lovotime.

How do I edit my profile?

To edit your profile, tap the icon on the top left-hand corner of the main screen and select 'My Profile'.

How do I change my location?

  1. Tap the icon on the top left-hand corner of the main screen
  2. Select 'Settings'
  3. Tap the refresh icon next to your current location

How do I change my search preferences?

  1. Tap the icon on the top left-hand corner of the main screen
  2. Select 'Settings'
  3. Adjust your search preferences (Gender, Ages, Distance). The changes will be used for the next search for a match.

I've registered but I'm not receiving matches. Why?

If you can see a beating heart on the screen, don't worry, just wait. Lovotime will keep searching for matches for you. You'll receive a notification when you match with a new person.

To speed up matches, you can spread the word about Lovotime by tapping the icon on the top left-hand corner and choosing ‘Invite a Friend'. The more people who use Lovotime, the faster you'll meet new people!

I got a match that I don't like, but he/she keeps sending messages

Don't worry, If you don't respond to the messages, the chat is automatically suspended after awhile. If they sent you something offensive, you can report the person and block the conversation immediately.

How do I delete my account?

For security purposes, if you want to delete your account, you'll need to do it directly on the app.

You will permanently lose your matches, messages and all other information associated with your account.

To delete your account, follow the steps below:

  1. If you deleted the app, download the app again
  2. Tap the icon on the top left-hand corner of the main screen
  3. Go to 'Settings'
  4. Scroll down and select 'Delete Account'.

Note: Deleting the app does not delete your account.